Call for Nominations - WEDA's Annual Awards 2019

Call for Nominations!

Annual Linda Hewitt Memorial Community Development Award

Each year WEDA sponsors the Linda Hewitt Memorial Community Development Scholarship, which is awarded to a deserving community or economic development person or organization in Wyoming. This person does not have to be a WEDA member - but it must be someone with an impressive community and/or economic development track record. Now is your time to nominate someone, or several, from your area for this distinguished scholarship. Deadline for submitting?nominees (there can be more than one nominee) is: Thursday, August 15th, 2019.

This award recognizes a person or organization in honor of Linda Hewitt, who was economic development professional from Lander, past WEDA board president, and Wyoming Business Council Regional Director. Hewitt devoted much of her life to improving and growing her community and the state.

We understand that to select only one recipient from the many accomplished and deserving community development professionals you know of is no easy task. Therefore, please include several paragraphs that explains why this person is the best choice for the award. This content may?also be used for press release coverage if your nominee is selected. Please use the form and make sure your nomination includes the following.

  • The nomination form including your contact information
  • Specific projects or ways the nominee has contributed to the community and/or state of Wyoming in economic development
  • How long the nominee has been working in the industry
  • Why they are deserving of being recognized

Click on this link for the nomination form:

Linda Hewitt Award Nomination Form

Wyoming Economic Development Association Innovation Award

This year WEDA is recognizing an innovative project significantly impacting a Wyoming community and its citizens. The award is intended to recognize participants involved in a Wyoming innovative economic development project and to highlight best practices. Deadline for telling us your nominees (there can be more than one nominee) is:? Thursday, August 15th, 2019.

Nominations are made by WEDA members and should include a list of all organizations, individuals, agencies, or participants involved in the successful project. This may be a self-nominating application; and is intended to celebrate the partnerships, innovative aspects and economic development impact of a project.

Please attach a project outline discussing these factors and the project’s impact on economic development.

The nominees will demonstrate:

  • The factors that make this project innovative, such as its use of creative funding mechanisms, efforts to create efficiencies or reduce costs, unique partnership models, techniques to build resilience or enhancing your region’s quality of life.
  • Explain each partner’s role in the project
  • Outline the project’s accomplishments or results to date, including the economic development impact on a community or region.

How partners came together to plan, develop and share the cost to achieve desired results for a specific purpose. Articles, letters of endorsement, photos, and other support material are welcome to accompany the nomination to support documentation of the benefits the project has created.?

The award will be given at the Wyoming Working?Together Fall Conference in Gillette September 4-6, 2019 and will be acknowledged afterwards through local and statewide press releases.?

Click on this link for the nomination form:

Innovation Award Nomination Form

Nominations can be submitted by submission of the nomination forms to